The new line-up is a continuation of the “Jachna/Cichocki/Urowski/Krawczyk” quartet, which released the album The Right Moment in 2015. The group of musicians was completed by guitarist Marek Malinowski. The personal configuration with Elements impresses with its harmony, ingenuity and original solutions. Contrary to appearances, the album is not dominated by the trumpet. “The musicians of this line-up are great improvisers and composers. I eagerly used their pieces, which in my opinion are unique – I wouldn’t have written them myself. However, all the material we had was subjected to a rigorous selection – the album “Elements”, despite its clear diversity, was supposed to be a coherent record” – adds the trumpeter.

“Elements” grows out of jazz, but the classic jazz themes in many places – especially thanks to the ingenious use of electronics and dynamic guitar parts – clearly bud towards other styles. A sign of great maturity is also keeping the golden ratio between the hard regime of composed and closed forms, and improvisation. The title loosely, but at the same time aptly conveys the character of the release. “Our music consists of many different elements. We have created a kind of a musical puzzle, which, however, proves the crystallization of our own style. This is the most important for me, although I am aware that this is a process that will not end with one album” – summarizes Wojciech Jachna.

released April 23, 2020

Wojciech Jachna – trumpet, flugelhorn, shaker
Marek Malinowski – guitar
Jacek Cichocki – piano and electric piano, Vermona electric piano, Moog synthesizer, fx
Paweł Urowski – double bass
Mateusz Krawczyk – drums, percussion

Recorded 23-24 September 2019 at A/V MCK Studio in Bydgoszcz.
Recorded by Filip Pniewski.
Mixed and mastered by Marcin Bociński “legatomastering”.
Cover photo – Dariusz Bareya
Cover design – by Kasia Szumigalska and Robert Szumigalski.

Executive producer – Marcin Mizerek

Scroll to Top