October 18th marks the release date of a brand new album from Polish supergroup Innercity Ensemble (featuring members of Stara Rzeka, Alameda collective and Kapital). Entitled “IV”, the album consists of 8 brand new tracks that will take the listener far from band’s improvising roots.

“This time we decided to focus more on the post-production, including edits, overdubs and remixes,” explains Jakub Ziołek (guitar, voice). “This was driven mainly by the outcome of our recording session as well as a simple will to push our music further than before,” he adds.

One of the biggest surprises this time comes from Ziołek himself who decided to add vocals to 3 tracks, a move previously more in place with his other projects. “And that’s exactly why I decided to do it,” Ziołek laughs. “Innercity Ensemble was an instrumental band from the very beginning but I must admit that I have a constant urge of trying new things. What I enjoy most in music are nice songs,” Jakub says.

What makes Innercity Ensemble stand out is also the attitude that ignores members’ musical backgrounds, their technical skills and their instruments of choice. What really matters is their ability to listen to each other. “If you’d make me describe this collective from the genre standpoint, I would choose ‘fusion’ since my favourite music is created not within genres but between them”.

Jakub Ziołek – guitars, synthesizers, beat programming, piano, voice, fx
Tomasz Popowski – drums, percussion, beat programming, synthesizer
Artur Maćkowiak – guitar, synthesizer, fx
Rafał Kołacki – congas, bells, rattles, sampling pad, slit drum
Wojciech Jachna – trumpet, electric organ, fx
Rafał Iwański – darabukka, doumbek, gongs, granite blocks, percussion
Radosław Dziubek – electronics, percussion, bells
Jaśmina Polak – voice /The Great Kuyavian Meadows/
Freeze – electronics /Rekonstrukt 1/

Recorded between 3-5 August 2018 at Palace Ostromecko. Thanks to Miejskie Centrum Kultury in Bydgoszcz and Palace in Ostromecko for letting us play in that beautiful place.

Recording – Jarosław Hejmann
Mix – Jakub Ziołek
Mastering – Marcin Bociński
Artwork – Hanna Cieślak
Layout – Marcin Łojek

Scroll to Top