Ghostwriter’s Joke


Contemporary Noise Sextet
Available now on:

Contemporary Noise Sextet – “Ghostwriter’s Joke” – The latest album brings compositions that are audio stories, histories or commentaries on the lives of specific people, sometimes well-known, existing in the mass consciousness, and sometimes not known to anyone.
These are pieces written to order for these people, most of whom wished to remain anonymous. Some of them disappeared under unexplained circumstances and hearing about them disappeared. To this day it is not known what happens to them, no one has seen them again…but the music remains.
Contemporary Noise Sextet – a formation founded by the Kapsa brothers, formerly co-founders of Something Like Elvis.The band was also previously known as Contemporary Noise Quintet. The lineup also includes Tomek Glazik – on saxophones (Kult, ex-4Syphon, Sing Sing Penelope), Wojciech Jachna on trumpet (Sing Sing Penelope, Mordy), Kamil Pater (Dziki Jazz) and bassist Patryk Węcławek (Sing Sing Penelope, Maestro Tritons). The band’s music can be described as energetic jazz, with elements of film music, but the variety of sounds does not allow to clearly pigeonhole the style developed by the musicians.

In the fall of 2006, the band’s debut album “Pig Inside The Gentleman” was released, which received very positive reviews and became one of the albums of the year in a poll by Polish Radio’s Third Program. Subsequent albums include “Theatre Play Music,” a recording of illustrative music for a theatrical performance, “Unaffected Thought Flow,” the first album recorded as a sextet, and the latest album titled “Ghostwriter’s Joke.”
CNS’s albums are also being released in Japan by Zankyo Rec. and in Germany by Denovali Rec. and it will be no different with the latest album, which will soon be released in vinyl as well.

Recorded at Electric Eye Studio, Szubin on January 2011.

Egineered, mixed – Kuba Kapsa

Mastered – Jakub Pacanowski at “Jacob Records”

Graphic Design – Bartek Kapsa

Photos – Natalia Kapsa, Bartek Kapsa

Kuba Kapsa – piano

Tomek Glazik – tenor saxophone

Wojtek Jachna – trumpet

Kamil Pater – guitar

Patryk Węcławek – double bass

Bartek Kapsa – drums and percussion

Scroll to Top